An unneccessary incident

You know, computers usually have hard disks. Every hard disk has movable parts and that’s the reason, why hard disks are about to fail on day (earlier or later they will do so!). When working with computers for a long time, you can hear, when a had disk begins to die and can bay a new hard disk to replace the failing one, right before old disk will be death.

I ordered a new hard disk and got it a few days later. Put it in a USB case and plugged it in the compter to start it with a disk duplication software. All the data should be copied from the old disk to the new one and I would be back in the game – I thought.

Unfortunately the imaging software was unable to start on that computer for an unknown reason. So I tried to change the disks for changing the copy direction. I also tried to make an image first instead of copying it on the fly. All my efforts were unsuccessful.

So I investigated to find another software for moving my running environment to the new hard disk: Acronis Easy Migrate 7. While reading the description on the website, I thought, that this might be the right software for that job and installed it after downloading it from their website.

Installation was OK. A final reboot to finish the installation and fire! But — it mentioned to miss a floppy drive. A FLOPPY? What the heck? Why a floppy. So I uninstalled it again. but after the final reboot, my Windows was unable to start again. The uninstallation destroyed the Windows environment, so that the included repair tools were unable to fix it.

Next step: a chat with Acronis support.

The chat lasts about 3 hours to analyze the problem. I’m an IT pro myself for more the 20 years, but the result was really shocking for me: No recovery possible, ’cause something happened, that might have destroyed the registry and for newer versions of Windows (newer as XP) no backup copy of the registry exists anymore. The only possible solution is to re-install.

OK, that might be possible: there is a recovery partition provided by Acer on my hard disk and the only thing I have to do, is to press on the button to save my user data and gat the computer in the same shape as it was, when I got it frist after delivery. That’s the plan.

Unfortunately, the recovery process didn’t work. It started properly, but a one point, it stopped with an unnamed error mentioning “an unknown error occurred. Reboot to continue setup”. This error wasn’t fixable and occurred again and again. What’s next?

Next I tried to recover using the recovery media by Acer. But the recovery process ended in the same situation. How disappointing.

I invested a complete weekend and three evenings in the recovery without any usable result.

My next try will use a Windows-OEM DVD.

As long as this computer is broken, I’m unable to edit photos. All the other things can be done using my tablet, but there are many photos waiting for being editied. How disappointing.

3 thoughts on “An unneccessary incident

  1. Pingback: Done! « MyBlog – solaner

What do you think?

