Inside Marienmünster

600_1255-e_w In my last post I introduced you to the catholic church Marienmünster in Dießen and put some photos from the outer view online. As I proposed in that post, I’ll show you some from the inside, now.

I was in Bavaria for several times and nevertheless where in Bavaria I was, I found a certain kind of style, how they built the churches.  Now I want to introduce it to you. Keep in mind, I didn’t study architecture, art or history. Thus some of my statements regarding the architecture style or the art period might be completely correct or not precisely enough.

These certain style is called Bavarian Barock, a variation of the Italian Barock style.

The churches are very light (much of white inside and outside), but very much decorated with gold and colorful paintings at the walls, balustrades and the ceilings. Usually there are many people (tourists and residents as well) inside, tourists for watching and residents for a short prayer on their way home, to business or whatever. The churches are usually open from early morning until 6 p.m. (in case of a service or an other event, even longer). But, when closed the door is still open, only the fence is closed, as you can see in one of the photos. It’s just like Jesus told his followers: Who will come to me, whom I won’t recoil.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 thoughts on “Inside Marienmünster

  1. Greetings from Australia,
    I love Bavaria, it has such a rich history and culture, not to mention natural beauty. Also the architecture as especially manifested in the churches is beautiful to behold. Great work. I love everything about the photographs of the church and not jut simply for the architecture, Christianity is very dear to me.
    God bless you

  2. Pingback: The Wies « MyBlog – solaner

  3. Pingback: Thanksgiving « MyBlog – solaner

What do you think?

