diamonds at the sea

600_6055-ec_wThis is another aspect of the combination of ice and sun: shiny little diamonds laying on the back sand at the beach, just like they were laying in a jewelry store’s window decorated on black velvet.

The setting sun was able to illuminate these compact blocks of clear ice from behind. Where the sun reaches the ice, it is illuminated in a warm, soft orange. While those parts of the blocks, not hit by the sun, stay in their cold, blue appearance.

The sun must have a very low stand to illuminate the ice blocks in this way. Unfortunately, this didn’t last long. It lasted only for a few minutes, before the sun hided behind the mountains.

Many other people also were on that beach as we were there. So, it was kind of hard to avoid people somewhere in the background of my own photos. Some people even were taking ice blocks to drape them on the beach.

Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

18 thoughts on “diamonds at the sea

  1. Such exquisite beauty. In that stunning, ephemeral light, they really do have the radiant effect of diamonds on a deep blue velvet cloth (only this is far more striking)…astounding. I love the shots with crumbling sea in the background and so long to run my fingers through that cold, rich and dark velvety sand. Jubilant cheers,

    smiling toad

      • I have nominated you for the 5-Day Challenge. I really hope you can take part, as I know you have some amazing photos to share. The challenge is: Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge. 🙂

      • Thank you very much for the nomination, Fatima. I considered my participation very carefully. But, I’m sorry to refuse taking part in the challenge. I’m already telling stories in subsequent series and such a 5-day series won’t fit into the schedule without disturbing my other series. On the other hand, I don’t want to publish more than one post per day.
        I guess, there are so many challenges and awards around where you have to nominate other bloggers following a snowball system. Thus, I don’t want to bother anyone else, although I’m feeling flattered and honored by being nominated.

What do you think?

