plants in the Icelandic highlands

In my last post I started to show you some of the Icelandic plants. Today I have some more plants. These plants grow in the highlands.

600_2530-ecc_wIn the highlands you can find many, many mosses and lichens. But, can also find tiny blooming plants: i.e.

  • Silene acaulis, known as moss campion or cushion pink (Stängelloses Leimkraut)
  • Silene uniflora Roth (Klippen-Leimkraut / Einblütiges Leimkraut)
  • Armeria (Grasnelke)
  • Chamerion latifolium (formerly Epilobium latifolium) known as Dwarf Fireweed or River Beauty Willowherb (Arktisches Weidenröschen)
  • Dryas octopetala, common names include mountain avens, eightpetal mountain-avens, white dryas, and white dryad (Silberwurz)

I’m not a biologist, nor a botanist. Thus, I might have errors in the latin names. I got them by using Wikipedia and a German web-site dedicated to traveling Scandinavia. I’m quite sure about the German names noted inside the brackets, because I made notes from the explanations by our guide on Iceland and compared my photos very carefully to the sample photos on Wikipedia to be as accurate as possible.

Take care!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “plants in the Icelandic highlands

What do you think?

