Our Work Has Been Stolen

Follow the advice given on this post/site. David did a great job, finding this image thief, who sells posters from images without permission of the photographers. Investigate as he described by using the private or incognito mode of you internet browser to find out, if you’re a victim, too. Good luck!
I assumed, I’d be save, because I’m posting only small images. But, I was wrong 😦

Until now, I’m not sure, how many of my images are stolen, because of the bad response of their so-called web shop. When investigating, try it again and again. At least, I got different results for each search: the results differed from 0 to more than 700.

David also set up a post, on how to reclaim you images as yours and report a copyright violation. Hope, it helps.

iPhone Photographer | David Pasillas

I think I always knew this was going to happen. In fact, I caught someone a few years ago that had stolen one of my iphone photos and was distributing it to people that wanted to create composites. I wasn’t too upset about that because it wasn’t a great photo, and it probably wouldn’t have been used for anything since it was heavily edited. At any rate, a simple cease and desist worked.

This recent discovery is much more upsetting. It’s a bit of a rabbit hole that myself and other artists have been delving into the last few days. At first it looked like another poster website selling photographs that didn’t belong to them. A bit of research has lead us to believe its much worse.

I actually found some of your work on their site too. I’ll mention the names in a minute, but I honestly don’t want…

View original post 307 more words

10 thoughts on “Our Work Has Been Stolen

  1. Thank you for sharing this post. The downside of presenting photograph online 😦 I am afraid once our images exhibited in the internet, no mater how small the size is, it will be tough to protect it from not being stolen. I wish there is sort of special track and trace ID in the image..so we can check where the image landed..

    • yes, that’s the downside. 😦
      Storing a tracking ID won’t really help. Either you store it in the exif-data or you embed it inside the photo itself. Exif-data can be removed easily. Embedded data might be visible and disturbs or is embedded in a stealth mode where it is impossible to be checked with automatic tools.
      I guess, the only way to protect images is the content delivery mechanism. Instead of delivering an image as one piece of data, it should be split in several parts and displayed in a grid to give the visitor the appearance of a complete image. But, just in case someone wants to save it, she will only get a small piece. (another advantage is, images can be loaded more quickly). As an additional layer of security, a transparent png file could be displayed in a separate frame directly above the image. In case anybody uses the context menu on a displayed image, she will only by able the save the transparent png.
      Both of these mechanisms would save or work from being stolen. But won’t prevent someone with really criminal intention. It’d only help against the common user. 😦
      But, at least for the blogs, WordPress could help us by implementing these mechanisms as a default.

  2. That’s just so wrong! I never watermark my pictures as they are mainly holiday snaps and I am not a professional or even amateur, but someone asked me once if they could use one of my photos in their tourism brochure and I felt quite flattered and honoured by the request because they thought it was good enough for that. I gave permission, of course, but never heard back or saw my picture published.

    Good luck reclaiming your work.

  3. Some people believe the Internet is a source from which you can operate as easily. I was really surprised when I found one of my pics on a commercial tourism internetpage.

What do you think?

