I’m back …

610_6791-s_w… from my summer vacation.

I was in France again – even in Brittany again 🙂

I love being at the sea. I love sandy beaches. And I love diversified shorelines. Brittany has all of these – and more!

Brittany is of celtic origin and many names still have their names in the old Brittonic language or have the names onomatopoeic transferred to French.

Street signs usually have the names written in French as well as in Breton, the celtic language of the native people. Despite of the french politic of suppressing Breton and forcing the people to speak French, there are still some people left, being able to communicate in Breton. According to Wikipedia approximately 200,000, that’s app. 2% of the population. Breton is relative to the Cornish and the Welsh languages, once spoken in south-western Britain regions of Cornwall and Wales. Now, there’s a trend to try to educate more pupils in learning Breton again.

Although, this was a vacation and not a photo trip, I have some very nice images for you. But, not today 🙂 Until now, I only have a few of them developed.

My first trip to Brittany, a photo trip, led me to the Côte d’Emeraude. This time I was in the middle of the Côte de Granite Rose. I love the climate here in Brittany as well as the landscapes. Even when it’s hot, it’s no so unbearable hot because of the near ocean. Many, many flowers are blooming in the gardens and beside the roads, pretty nice houses and villages made of raw stone or studwork. Everything is well-shaped and clean. Even tiny villages are decorated with flowers.

We have had an apartment right in the middle of the town, only 150m from the beach, to be able to do much without the need of a car. But, in France summer holiday season is over at August 30th. So, it wasn’t crowded anymore. During the first days we got aware, how summer holiday season looks like during July and August. But, on September 1st everything changes: opening hours of the shops and supermarkets, leisure activities offerings, beach surveillance and so on.

So, here is a small preview, what’s in the pipe :). Enjoy the images in the gallery below and

take care!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

29 thoughts on “I’m back …

  1. Glad you enjoy my Brittany, and Breton is a lot more widespread but very reserve when they speak it. It is actually spoken at some degree by 700K people and many more in school from kindergarten up. Kenavo!

    • thanks, Pedro, for your addition from an insider. We met a cider producer in our vacation town, how also told us a bit about the current use and education situation of the breton language. I’m happy to hear about. Here we have similar movements with the native language of the people in Frisia or the sorbian language in Lausitz.
      Although, languages depart people. But, a language also means culture. And the culture has to survive.

      • Yes indeed. I too from a distant language Guanche of Tenerife from my grandparents and we still use it in the family. Cheers

      • no they are not still keeping about 50% of their vocabulary Unesco have them as dead language because of the widespread elimination by the Spaniards in centuries past, but we still speak it ::) felasen lol!

    • Thank you, Laura. I know the crystal balls, too. And I’ve some images taken with these balls, too. But, I like the wine glass much more. Do you remember, I have already had a few similar images in the past.

  2. Love the clarity of the image in the wine glass, I guess the blurry background is very apt, especially after a few glasses of wine.

  3. Lovely photo and the wine glass is a nice touch. However, we have some amazing beaches here on the Mediterranean… If you haven’t taken your camera to Collioure, you are missing the best. Picasso, Cezanne, Degas and many artists have fallen in love with this stunning seaside village. You won’t be disappointed. 🙂

    • Thanks, Léa.
      I know, I known. Provence is still on my list. But, I have to persuade my wife for such a long trip. You can’t imagine, how long I tried to convince her for the trips to Normandy last year and Brittany this year. The painters are some of my points for persuading her, ’cause she’s a painter, too.
      Regarding my plans for the next time, I guess, we could do that trip in August 2019: lavender fields in Provence, Aix-en-Provence, village Roussillon, Caracassonne and maybe even a bit of the Camargue. Up to now, it’s simply a vague idea without checking the distances.

      • Ah, she is a painter! Can I recommend the Monastér de Saint-Paul de Mausole http://www.saintpauldemausole.fr. A well known artist checked himself in here for a rest after a rather well known incident with one of his ears. I don’t know how much rest he got because in one year (53 weeks) he completed 143 oil paintings (including Starry Night) and 100 drawings! I’m hoping to get there myself before too long as it has been on my list for some time. Aix-en-Provence is one of my favourite places as for me, Atelier Cézanne is magical! Enjoy…

      • If you are in Provence, you may want to check it out. However, Collioure dazzled all the great artists and continues to do so. It would take you farther as it is not far from the border to Spain. 😀

      • Thanks, Léa, for the additional tip. I guess, I’ll need at least 3 weeks for that trip 😦 . Because of the distance and the many locations to visit 🙂

  4. Pingback: 2016 – A review in images | MyBlog - solaner

What do you think?

